Results Driven - Client Focused Results driven law firm founded on the principles of honesty and integrity. 

Second DUI Fines and Penalties

Arizona drivers convicted of a second DUI within seven years of their first conviction face mandatory fines, jail time, and penalties such as license revocation and the installation of an ignition interlock device. These consequences are some of the harshest in America and are the result of Arizona previously having one of the highest rates of DUI-related deaths in the country. If you are facing the consequences of a second DUI, you need to hire one of the best Mesa DUI Lawyers to defend your rights.

Your blood alcohol content (BAC) dictates which DUI classification you face. Note that you may still face arrest and a DUI charge even if your BAC is below the legal limit of 0.08 percent. This is up to the judgment of the arresting officer and the discretion of the court. This is yet another reason why hiring an experienced Arizona DUI defense attorney is in your best interests.

Consequences of a Standard DUI, 2nd Offense

The standard DUI classification is characterized by a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher for most drivers. That percentage drops to 0.04 for anyone driving a commercial vehicle, and 0.00 for a driver under the age of 21. Penalties include:

  • Minimum 90 days in jail (possible to get 60 days suspended)
  • Minimum fines of $3,000
  • Driver’s license revoked for 12 months
  • Completion of alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device on each vehicle you drive, at your expense

Consequences of an Extreme DUI, 2nd Offense

A blood alcohol content of 0.15 percent or higher results in a charge of Extreme DUI. Second offense penalties include:

  • Minimum 120 days in jail
  • Minimum fines of $3,250
  • Driver’s license revoked for 12 months
  • Completion of alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device on each vehicle you drive, at your expense

Consequences of an Aggravated DUI

Aggravated DUI applies to any driver convicted of DUI under the following conditions:

  • Driving on a suspended, revoked, or canceled license
  • Found guilty of driving under the influence three times in an 84-month period
  • Commit DUI with a passenger under the age of 15 in the vehicle
  • Commit DUI or refuse a BAC test while under an ignition interlock device agreement

Fines and penalties for Aggravated DUI include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Up to two and half years in jail in addition to other incarceration penalties
  • Probation
  • License revocation for three years
  • Completion of alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device on each vehicle you drive, at your expense

Hire an Experienced Arizona DUI Defense Attorney

All of these fines and penalties are the minimum consequences you face if convicted of DUI. With so many variables in DUI classification and penalties, you need a qualified defense attorney to represent you. The consequences can be very painful and hiring the right attorney can make a difference. Call Edwards & Petersen today for a free consultation.

Testimonials

I couldn't have made it through the most difficult time in my families' lives if it weren't for the support I received from Brian Petersen and Josh Edwards.

-Michelle (Former Client)

Above Your Expectations

What Makes Edwards & Petersen Your Best Choice
  • Available 24/7

    We know that when you need legal help it is a scary time in your life. That is why at Edwards & Petersen | PLC we'll be with you day and night to help you every step of the way.

  • A Team Effort

    When you hire Edwards & Petersen | PLC, you're getting the whole team. Working as a team helps us to be able to come up with creative solutions to get our clients the best outcome.

  • Not A Case Number

    You are not simply a file number to Edwards & Petersen | PLC. We treat and fight for our clients like they are family.

Backed By More Than Our Clients